I have had numerous classes where we brought our lessons outside of the classroom to explore the culture and art of our local community both in London and in Orange County. My one art classes that took us to see Wicked, and Cirque Du Soliel’s Quidam, a classical Baroque concert performed at Disney Concert Hall. Here in London, my Art in Context class has taken to us to different galleries around central London. They were the best classes I have ever taken, however, a journal or a written review is always required. Blogs are the same. It has become more of a requirement and an obligation rather than something that springs forth as an inspiration from what I just saw. I just wanted to experience something for what it is without having the pressure to have an opinion about it.

I had to change my perspective on journaling, learning to understand that journals and blogs help contribute to generation and solidification of an idea. In class, teachers are constantly trying help student analyze and develop an opinion about all the topics. That is in essence what University learning is: “What do you think about this and why?” Great writings are about an option with strong supporting evidence Opinions are inherent to the inquiring of critical thinking skills. Great thinkers and artist are those who not only oppose the common ideas but who profess a different opinion that they are capable of backing up with a strong valid argument. Interesting personality are personalities with controversial opinions, (not to say that they are good or bad opinions or strong opinions). Simon Cowell on American Idol is famous for having tough opinions.

Even in casual social conversation about clothes, if a person does not have an opinion about the topic, he or she does not contribute to the topic, and therefore becomes useless is that particular incidence. In the case of a girlfriend asking a boy friend which shirt she should wear, the boyfriend gives no opinion because it does not apply to him. He is not interested, and he is not graded for it. What he does not know is that he is graded on it. An opinion could be positive, negative or able to be qualified, but his lack of opinion makes him useless. Rene Decarte claims, “I think, therefore I am.” The antithesis states, I do not think therefore I am not.

So I started this post as a lazy student complaining about having to always have an opinion about art and galleries to write about on this blog. I now conclude with an opposing thought claiming that one must always have an opinion, and the lack of opinion for a topic reveals his or her ignorance about that topic. That is my opinion on opinions.